Studies in Painting and Printmaking

04/01/2017

Ya-Wen Liu
Mentor: Professor Emily Stokes
Department of Art


My poster shows examples of artwork that I have created in the past year. The painting, "Life in Orange City," reflects my life at Northwestern College and in Iowa as an international student. This is an oil painting on wood that is based on reference photos and artists' works. The monotype print that I have included explores color, composition, and texture in an expressive way. I find inspiration in Cubist artists such as Juan Gris, and hope that my art can touch people's hearts like Gris' work. In my senior year, I will participate in the art department's senior show process, so the work that I make now, some of it showcased here, will help me determine what I create for that show.

© 2017 Mark Husbands, VPAA
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started